Timeline
Accounting software price increases: documented changes, newest first
42 documented changes with a before and after price, 41 of them increases, each with its source.
The list-price changes we have documented with both a “before” and an “after” price across 13 vendors, newest first, with the source for each. It is a floor, not a complete record: a change that a source reports without an old price we can establish appears only on that vendor’s history page. Use the filter to follow one vendor. Prices are in the units shown under each plan name. Marks are explained under the table.
| Date | Vendor | Plan | Before | After | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 2, 2026 first seen by StackWatch; the vendor states no effective date | SmartVault | Business Pro per user per month, monthly billing; 3-user minimum | $75 | $85 | +$10 (+13%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Oct 2, 2026 first seen by StackWatch; the vendor states no effective date | SmartVault | Business Pro per user per month, billed annually; 3-user minimum | $55 | $65 | +$10 (+18%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Oct 1, 2026 effective date per vendor; first seen Oct 3, 2026 | Xero (US) | Growing per month per organization | $55 | $59 | +$4 (+7.3%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Oct 1, 2026 effective date per vendor; first seen Oct 3, 2026 | Xero (US) | Established per month per organization | $90 | $97 | +$7 (+7.8%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Oct 1, 2026 effective date per vendor; first seen Oct 3, 2026 | Xero (US) | Early per month per organization | $25 | $27 | +$2 (+8.0%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Aug 1, 2026 effective date per vendor; first seen Aug 5, 2026 | QuickBooks Online | Plus per month per company | $115 | $140 | +$25 (+22%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Aug 1, 2026 effective date per vendor; first seen Aug 5, 2026 | QuickBooks Online | Essentials per month per company | $75 | $85 | +$10 (+13%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Aug 1, 2026 effective date per vendor; first seen Aug 5, 2026 | QuickBooks Online | Advanced per month per company | $275 | $340 | +$65 (+24%) | StackWatch daily read first-party |
| Oct 1, 2025 | Xero (US) | Growing per month per organization | $47‡ | $55 | +$8 (+17%) | Xero partner email template vendor |
| Oct 1, 2025 | Xero (US) | Established per month per organization | $80‡ | $90 | +$10 (+13%) | Xero partner email template vendor |
| Jul 1, 2025 | QuickBooks Online | Simple Start per month per company | $35 | $38 | +$3 (+8.6%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Jul 1, 2025 | QuickBooks Online | Plus per month per company | $99 | $115 | +$16 (+16%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Jul 1, 2025 | QuickBooks Online | Essentials per month per company | $65 | $75 | +$10 (+15%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Jul 1, 2025 | QuickBooks Online | Advanced per month per company | $235 | $275 | +$40 (+17%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Oct 27, 2024 | Xero (US) | Growing per month per organization | $42 | $47 | +$5 (+12%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Oct 27, 2024 | Xero (US) | Established per month per organization | $78 | $80 | +$2 (+2.6%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Aug 1, 2024 | QuickBooks Online | Simple Start per month per company | $30 | $35 | +$5 (+17%) | CDS CPA review site |
| Aug 1, 2024 | QuickBooks Online | Self-Employed per month per subscription (single-user plan) | $20 | $25 | +$5 (+25%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Aug 1, 2024 | QuickBooks Online | Plus per month per company | $90 | $99 | +$9 (+10%) | CDS CPA review site |
| Aug 1, 2024 | QuickBooks Online | Essentials per month per company | $60 | $65 | +$5 (+8.3%) | CDS CPA review site |
| Aug 1, 2024 | QuickBooks Online | Advanced per month per company | $200 | $235 | +$35 (+18%) | CDS CPA review site |
| Mar 4, 2024 | Xero (US) | Cashbook per month per organization | $8 | $10 | +$2 (+25%) | Xero partner-update page vendor |
| Aug 1, 2023 | QuickBooks Online | Self-Employed per month per subscription (single-user plan) | $15 | $20 | +$5 (+33%) | Porte Brown review site |
| Aug 1, 2023 | QuickBooks Online | Plus per month per company | $85 | $90 | +$5 (+5.9%) | Porte Brown review site |
| Aug 1, 2023 | QuickBooks Online | Essentials per month per company | $55 | $60 | +$5 (+9.1%) | Porte Brown review site |
| Mar 14, 2023 | Xero (US) | Cashbook per month per organization | $7‡ | $8 | +$1 (+14%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Feb 13, 2023 | TaxDome | Pro per user per year, 1-year plan | $600 | $800 | +$200 (+33%) | TaxDome vendor |
| Nov 14, 2022 | Xero (US) | Growing per month per organization | $34‡ | $37 | +$3 (+8.8%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Nov 14, 2022 | Xero (US) | Established per month per organization | $65‡ | $70 | +$5 (+7.7%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Nov 14, 2022 | Xero (US) | Early per month per organization | $12‡ | $13 | +$1 (+8.3%) | Insightful Accountant trade press |
| Jul 18, 2022 | QuickBooks Online | Plus per month per company | $80‡ | $85 | +$5 (+6.3%) | The Progressive Accountant trade press |
| Jul 18, 2022 | QuickBooks Online | Advanced per month per company | $180 | $200 | +$20 (+11%) | The Progressive Accountant trade press |
| Jul 1, 2022 | QuickBooks Online | Simple Start per month per company | $25‡ | $30† | +$5 (+20%) | The Progressive Accountant trade press |
| Jul 1, 2022 | QuickBooks Online | Essentials per month per company | $50‡ | $55† | +$5 (+10%) | The Progressive Accountant trade press |
| Jul 15, 2021 | QuickBooks Online | Plus per month per company | $70 | $80† | +$10 (+14%) | Accounting Today trade press |
| Jul 15, 2021 | QuickBooks Online | Essentials per month per company | $40 | $50† | +$10 (+25%) | Accounting Today trade press |
| Jul 15, 2021 | QuickBooks Online | Advanced per month per company | $150 | $180† | +$30 (+20%) | Accounting Today trade press |
| May 24, 2021 as reported | Xero (US) | Growing per month per organization | $30‡ | $32§ | +$2 (+6.7%) | Reynolds CPA Firm review site |
| May 24, 2021 as reported | Xero (US) | Established per month per organization | $60‡ | $62§ | +$2 (+3.3%) | Reynolds CPA Firm review site |
| May 24, 2021 as reported | Xero (US) | Early per month per organization | $9‡ | $11§ | +$2 (+22%) | Reynolds CPA Firm review site |
| Nov 1, 2018 | Xero (US) | Established (then called Premium) per month per organization | $70 | $60 | −$10 (−14%) | Enterprise Times trade press |
| Oct 1, 2016 | Gusto | Single plan (before named tiers) base fee per month | $29 | $39 | +$10 (+34%) | VentureBeat trade press |
† The source gives the price without stating the billing period or unit; we show it as reported. ‡ The “before” figure is worked out, not stated: where the source states only the new price, the “before” figure is the previous verified price of the same plan and billing basis (less than 18 months earlier); where the source states the size of the increase (for example “increase by $1 per month to $13”) but not the old price, the “before” figure is the new price minus that increase, and an earlier step may exist that our records do not show. § The cited page does not name a country or currency, so we cannot confirm from that page that the price is in US dollars; we show it as reported. Dates are the vendor’s effective date where a source states one; “announced” and “as reported” mark an announcement date or an article date. “First seen” dates are StackWatch’s own reads of the vendor’s page.
Plan and policy changes
Changes to plans, billing rules and schedules that do not come with a single price figure.
| When | Vendor | What changed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 1, 2026 | QuickBooks Online | Intuit’s product-update page says monthly prices for Essentials, Plus and Advanced change at each subscription’s next billing date on or after Aug 1, 2026. Simple Start, Free, Lite and Ledger are unchanged. | Intuit product-update page vendor |
| Aug 1, 2026 | Fathom | Fathom’s help center lists pricing changes on both plan types with these effective dates: new customers Aug 1, 2026; existing customers Sept 1, 2026 (on their billing date); custom plans Nov 1, 2026. It says existing customers can lock current pricing with an annual contract. It does not state amounts. | Fathom help center vendor |
| Jun 7, 2025 | TaxDome | TaxDome’s pricing FAQ says firms created before Jan 1, 2025 were migrated automatically from Essentials to Pro on June 7, 2025. Renewals after that date are billed at the Pro rate ($1,000) instead of the Essentials rate ($800), even when team size did not change. | TaxDome Help Center vendor |
| Jun 1, 2025 | TaxDome | TaxDome’s 2025 pricing PDF says firms created before Jan 1, 2025 were not affected by the updated pricing until June 1, 2025. | TaxDome vendor |
| May 27, 2025 | QuickBooks Online | Intuit’s accountant notice set the 2025 schedule: new prices from July 1, 2025 for new and existing client-billed subscriptions and from Aug 1, 2025 for existing accountant-billed ones. It applies to U.S. customers only; Ledger and Intuit Enterprise Suite pricing was unchanged. | Intuit accountant notice vendor |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Fathom | Fathom’s help center says Pro prices increased for new customers on Apr 1, 2025 and for existing customers on May 1, 2025. Portfolio and custom-branding prices did not change. It does not state amounts. | Fathom help center vendor |
| Jun 10, 2024 | QuickBooks Online | Intuit emailed accountants about upcoming QuickBooks Online price changes. Its notice lists effective dates of Aug 1 and Sept 1, 2024 and says Ledger pricing was not changing. | Intuit accountant notice vendor |
| Jan 10, 2024 | SmartVault | SmartVault announced a new Accounting Unlimited plan at $65 per user per month when billed annually, with unlimited e-signatures, identity checks and storage. | SmartVault vendor |
| Nov 1, 2023 | Dext | Dext moved its accountant (Practice) plans to per-client pricing, with two levels called Essentials and Advanced, applied at each customer’s next renewal on or after Nov 1, 2023. This concerns the Practice plans, not the Business plan. | Dext pricing-update page vendor |
| Sep 8, 2022 | Fathom | Fathom’s help center says prices increased for new customers on Sept 8, 2022 and for existing customers on Dec 1, 2022. It does not state amounts. | Fathom help center vendor |
| Jul 11, 2022 | Gusto | Gusto announced new Simple, Plus and Premium plans replacing Core, Complete, Concierge and Select. New clients moved first, and accountants were given a buffer so existing clients did not have to switch at once. Gusto’s partner newsletter calls it the first pricing update in five years. | Gusto vendor |
| Nov 1, 2018 | Xero (US) | Xero renamed its US plans from Starter, Standard and Premium to Early, Growing and Established, priced at $9, $30 and $60 a month. Existing customers were moved automatically. | Xero blog vendor |
| Oct 15, 2018 | QuickBooks Online | Intuit introduced QuickBooks Online Advanced as a new top tier above Plus, with room for up to 25 users. Accounting Today reported the price as $150 a month four days later. | Intuit press release vendor |