Price history · Accounting software

Xero (US) price history: documented price changes since 2018

How Xero’s US list prices have moved, with the source and date for each figure.

Updated October 11, 2026 · 23 dated data points from 9 sources · Vendor page last read October 11, 2026 · How we verify prices

Xero is online accounting software. Its US pricing page sells three plans (Early, Growing and Established) with unlimited users on every plan.

This page collects the dated list prices we could document for Xero, each with the source it came from. StackWatch has also recorded Xero’s own pricing page on 30 days since September 12, 2026.

16documented price changes
23dated price data points
2018earliest data point
Oct 1, 2026most recent documented change

Xero prices at a glance

The Early plan went from $11 (May 24, 2021) to $27 (as of Oct 11, 2026), a rise of 145%, or about 18% a year compounded. The Growing plan went from $30 (Feb 19, 2018) to $59 (as of Oct 11, 2026), a rise of 97%, or about 8.1% a year compounded. Across 6 increases where the source states both the old and the new price, the median step was 7.9% and the largest was 25% (Cashbook, Mar 4, 2024). The most recent documented change took effect October 1, 2026: Early $25 to $27, Established $90 to $97, Growing $55 to $59. We found documented increases in 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026.

PlanFirst price foundLatest priceChangePer yearDocumented changes
Growing
per month per organization
$30§
Feb 19, 2018
$59
vendor page, Oct 11, 2026
+$29 (+97%)8.1%5
Established
per month per organization
$60
Nov 1, 2018
$97
vendor page, Oct 11, 2026
+$37 (+62%)6.2%6
Early
per month per organization
$11§
May 24, 2021
$27
vendor page, Oct 11, 2026
+$16 (+145%)18%3
Cashbook
per month per organization
$8
Mar 14, 2023
$10
Mar 4, 2024
+$2 (+25%)—2

Early is compared from May 24, 2021 because Xero raised the plan’s monthly invoice limit from 5 to 20 in September 2020; Established is compared from Nov 1, 2018 because the plan was Premium until November 2018, when it was renamed, cut from $70 to $60 and bundled with Expenses and Projects. Earlier readings are in the history tables.

Percentages compare list prices only. What a plan includes (users, allowances, features) can change over time, and the earliest figures come from the sources named further down. “Latest price” is the vendor’s own pricing page as read on October 11, 2026 where the plan is still listed. Xero renamed its plans in November 2018 (Starter, Standard and Premium became Early, Growing and Established) and has changed plan allowances since, so these percentages compare list prices only.

Xero list prices over time

$0$25$50$75$100$125201820192020202120222023202420252026Feb 19, 2018: Early reported at $9Jul 14, 2020: Early reported at $9May 24, 2021: Early $9 to $11Nov 14, 2022: Early $12 to $13Oct 1, 2025: Early now $25Oct 1, 2026: Early $25 to $27Feb 19, 2018: Established reported at $70Nov 1, 2018: Established $70 to $60Jul 14, 2020: Established reported at $60May 24, 2021: Established $60 to $62Nov 14, 2022: Established $65 to $70Oct 27, 2024: Established $78 to $80Oct 1, 2025: Established $80 to $90Oct 1, 2026: Established $90 to $97Feb 19, 2018: Growing reported at $30Jul 14, 2020: Growing reported at $30May 24, 2021: Growing $30 to $32Nov 14, 2022: Growing $34 to $37Oct 27, 2024: Growing $42 to $47Oct 1, 2025: Growing $47 to $55Oct 1, 2026: Growing $55 to $59Mar 14, 2023: Cashbook $7 to $8Mar 4, 2024: Cashbook $8 to $10Established $97Growing $59Early $27Cashbook $10last seen Mar 4, 2024

List price of each plan over time, billed monthly, per month. Solid lines show a price level between dated sources; dashed lines mark stretches where no source documents the price or the step between two dates. Each ring is a dated data point (hover or tap for the detail).

Documented Xero price changes

Newest first. “Before” is the old price when the source states it; ‡ marks a “before” figure that we worked out (see “How to read this page” below). A dash means we could not establish it.

DatePlanBeforeAfterChangeSource
Oct 1, 2026
effective date per vendor; first seen Oct 3, 2026
Growing
per month per organization
$55$59+$4 (+7.3%)StackWatch daily read first-party
Oct 1, 2026
effective date per vendor; first seen Oct 3, 2026
Established
per month per organization
$90$97+$7 (+7.8%)StackWatch daily read first-party
Oct 1, 2026
effective date per vendor; first seen Oct 3, 2026
Early
per month per organization
$25$27+$2 (+8.0%)StackWatch daily read first-party
Oct 1, 2025Growing
per month per organization
$47‡$55+$8 (+17%)Xero partner email template vendor
Oct 1, 2025Established
per month per organization
$80‡$90+$10 (+13%)Xero partner email template vendor
Oct 1, 2025Early
per month per organization
not stated$25—Xero partner email template vendor
Oct 27, 2024Growing
per month per organization
$42$47+$5 (+12%)Insightful Accountant trade press
Oct 27, 2024Established
per month per organization
$78$80+$2 (+2.6%)Insightful Accountant trade press
Mar 4, 2024Cashbook
per month per organization
$8$10+$2 (+25%)Xero partner-update page vendor
Mar 14, 2023Cashbook
per month per organization
$7‡$8+$1 (+14%)Insightful Accountant trade press
Nov 14, 2022Growing
per month per organization
$34‡$37+$3 (+8.8%)Insightful Accountant trade press
Nov 14, 2022Established
per month per organization
$65‡$70+$5 (+7.7%)Insightful Accountant trade press
Nov 14, 2022Early
per month per organization
$12‡$13+$1 (+8.3%)Insightful Accountant trade press
May 24, 2021
as reported
Growing
per month per organization
$30‡$32§+$2 (+6.7%)Reynolds CPA Firm review site
May 24, 2021
as reported
Established
per month per organization
$60‡$62§+$2 (+3.3%)Reynolds CPA Firm review site
May 24, 2021
as reported
Early
per month per organization
$9‡$11§+$2 (+22%)Reynolds CPA Firm review site
Nov 1, 2018Established (then called Premium)
per month per organization
$70$60−$10 (−14%)Enterprise Times trade press

Prices reported over time

Each row is a price a source reported on or around the date shown. “Change” compares with the previous reading of the same plan and billing basis; when the previous reading came from a different publisher it is labelled, because publishers can define a plan slightly differently.

Early (then called Starter)

DatePriceChange vs previous readingSource
Feb 19, 2018$9§
per month per organization
—CPA Practice Advisor trade press
Jul 14, 2020$9§
per month per organization
unchangedCPA Practice Advisor trade press

Established (then called Premium)

DatePriceChange vs previous readingSource
Feb 19, 2018$70§
per month per organization
—CPA Practice Advisor trade press
Jul 14, 2020$60§
per month per organization
—CPA Practice Advisor trade press

Growing (then called Standard)

DatePriceChange vs previous readingSource
Feb 19, 2018$30§
per month per organization
—CPA Practice Advisor trade press
Jul 14, 2020$30§
per month per organization
unchangedCPA Practice Advisor trade press

Plan and policy changes

Changes that matter for what you pay but do not come with a single price figure.

WhenScopeWhat changedSource
Nov 1, 2018All plansXero renamed its US plans from Starter, Standard and Premium to Early, Growing and Established, priced at $9, $30 and $60 a month. Existing customers were moved automatically.Xero blog vendor

How to read this page

‡ The “before” figure is worked out, not stated: where the source states only the new price, the “before” figure is the previous verified price of the same plan and billing basis (less than 18 months earlier); where the source states the size of the increase (for example “increase by $1 per month to $13”) but not the old price, the “before” figure is the new price minus that increase, and an earlier step may exist that our records do not show. § The cited page does not name a country or currency, so we cannot confirm from that page that the price is in US dollars; we show it as reported. Dates are the vendor’s effective date where a source states one. “Announced” means the date of the announcement and “as reported” means the date of the article when no effective date is stated. Prices are US list prices in US dollars, excluding promotions, taxes and add-ons. “First-party” rows are StackWatch’s own reads of the vendor’s page.

Planning a budget? Xero (US) pricing lists current prices, and the price-increase calculator shows what an increase costs a firm of your size.

Want an email when Xero changes its price?

Pick the tools your firm or your clients use, and we will email you when one of their US list prices changes. It is free.

Get free price alerts

Common questions

What does Xero cost today?

As of October 11, 2026, the Xero pricing page lists Early $27 a month (per organization); Growing $59 a month (per organization); Established $97 a month (per organization). See Xero (US) pricing for what each price covers.

When did Xero last change its prices?

The most recent change we have documented took effect October 1, 2026: Early $25 to $27, Established $90 to $97, Growing $55 to $59. Source: the vendor’s pricing page (StackWatch’s own read).

How much have Xero’s prices gone up?

Early went from $11 (May 24, 2021) to $27 (as of Oct 11, 2026), +145%. Growing went from $30 (Feb 19, 2018) to $59 (as of Oct 11, 2026), +97%. These percentages compare list prices only; what a plan includes can change over time.

How often does Xero raise prices?

We documented list-price increases in 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026. Dates are the effective dates where the source states one; otherwise the date the source reported the change.

Where do these figures come from?

Every row names its source and links to it: the vendor’s own pages and announcements, trade press, and review sites, plus StackWatch’s own daily reads of the vendor’s pricing page. Each figure was re-checked against its source by an independent second pass. How we verify prices