For software vendors
What your rivals charge, dated and sourced
In short. StackWatch sells software vendors a dated, sourced summary of what their rivals charge. Competitive Pricing Brief: $149 one time, covering up to 8 rivals you name, delivered in 48 hours. You pay after you receive it. To start, email the rival names to obekheet+stackwatch@gmail.com.
Who it is for
Product marketing, pricing and sales leads at accounting, tax, payroll and practice-management software companies. If someone on your team checks rivals’ pricing pages by hand before a pricing review, a launch or a battlecard update, this replaces that work and adds the dates.
What you get for $149
- Every public plan and price for up to 8 rivals you name, read from each rival’s own US pricing page, with the link and the date we read it.
- Prices put on one basis (per user per month), with billing terms, seat minimums and annual savings side by side.
- Every dated price or packaging change we can document, with its source. For the 14 tools we read daily, that includes what we saw change on our own reads.
- Rivals that publish no price are marked quote-only. We do not guess. Current prices come only from each rival’s own page; a past change we can document only from a third-party report says so and names that report.
- Delivered as a document within 48 hours of confirming your rival list. You pay after you receive it, by card through a payment link.
Sample: firm workflow and document tools, 5 users
This sample uses three tools we read every day, and its figures update after each morning’s read. A paid brief covers the rivals you name.
| Plan | List price, annual billing | Per user per month | Monthly billing | Annual saving | Cost for 5 users, per month | Date read (vendor page) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karbon Team | $59 a user a month | $59 | $79 | 25% | $295 | October 31, 2026 |
| SmartVault Accounting Pro | $65 a user a month | $65 | $85 | 24% | $325 | October 31, 2026 |
| TaxDome Pro | $1,000 a seat a year | $83.33 | Not listed | n/a | $416.67 | October 31, 2026 |
| SmartVault Accounting Unlimited | $85 a user a month | $85 | $110 | 23% | $425 | October 31, 2026 |
| Karbon Business | $89 a user a month | $89 | $99 | 10% | $445 | October 31, 2026 |
| TaxDome Business | $1,200 a seat a year | $100 | Not listed | n/a | $500 | October 31, 2026 |
Costs are list prices on annual billing for a one-year term, before tax, add-ons, onboarding fees and promotions. 5 users costs $295 a month on Karbon Team and $500 on TaxDome Business. TaxDome’s longer commitments cost less, and Karbon’s page limits monthly billing to teams of four or more. These plans differ in features, and SmartVault is a document tool rather than a practice-management tool, so read this as a price comparison only.
Sample: dated changes for the same three tools
| Date | Tool | What changed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seen Oct 5, 2026 | SmartVault | SmartVault’s pricing page lists a three-user minimum for Business Pro. The Progressive Accountant listed a two-user minimum for the plan in March 2024. | Source |
| Seen Oct 5, 2026 | Karbon | Karbon’s pricing page says monthly billing on Team and Business is available only to teams of four or more users. We do not know when that condition began. | Source |
| October 2, 2026 | SmartVault | Business Pro: $75 to $85 (per user per month, monthly billing; 3-user minimum). SmartVault does not state an effective date; this is the day StackWatch first saw the new price. | Source |
| October 2, 2026 | SmartVault | Business Pro: $55 to $65 (per user per month, billed annually; 3-user minimum). SmartVault does not state an effective date; this is the day StackWatch first saw the new price. | Source |
| Nov 3, 2025 | TaxDome | Assembly reports that TaxDome has discontinued its Lite plan and that Essentials now serves as the single-user option. | Source |
| Jun 7, 2025 | TaxDome | TaxDome’s pricing FAQ says firms created before Jan 1, 2025 were migrated automatically from Essentials to Pro on June 7, 2025. Renewals after that date are billed at the Pro rate ($1,000) instead of the Essentials rate ($800), even when team size did not change. | Source |
| Jun 1, 2025 | TaxDome | TaxDome’s 2025 pricing PDF says firms created before Jan 1, 2025 were not affected by the updated pricing until June 1, 2025. | Source |
| Jan 10, 2024 | SmartVault | SmartVault announced a new Accounting Unlimited plan at $65 per user per month when billed annually, with unlimited e-signatures, identity checks and storage. | Source |
What this is not
We report published prices. We do not have access to discounts, private quotes or rivals’ customer contracts, and we do not give legal or financial advice. StackWatch takes no affiliate money and no vendor pays for placement, and buying a brief does not change what we publish about any tool. How StackWatch verifies prices explains how we read prices.
How to start
Email obekheet+stackwatch@gmail.com with your company and the rivals you want covered. We reply within one working day to confirm the list, and the 48 hours start then.
Common questions
What does the StackWatch Competitive Pricing Brief cost?
It costs $149 one time for up to 8 rivals. You pay after you receive it.
Which rivals can it cover?
Any accounting, tax, payroll or practice-management tool you name. We read its own US pricing page; if it publishes no price, we mark it quote-only.
Does buying a brief affect what StackWatch publishes?
No. No vendor pays for placement, and a brief does not change what we publish about any tool.